Posted by: pberry | June 15, 2009

Why I like your tweet (or not)

https://i2.wp.com/creativenerds.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/twitter-bird-attiude.jpg Some people just get twitter. They understand what it is and how to use it effectively, be it personally or professionally. Don Miller gets it. I read all of Don’s tweets. He doesn’t tweet too often, nor is he a ghost. Sometimes it’s about his work. Other times it’s about his dog. In any case, Don crafts his twitter well. My brother-in-law also does a nice job. Almost always about travel, an amazing event (like his wife rifling a line drive off the outfield wall in their softball game), or his uber-adorable one year old. Mostly positive but with just enough whining to know that he’s human. Anyone who knows Matt and Susie would really enjoy his twitter.

Other’s just don’t get it. There’s another guy I follow whom I won’t name. I don’t know him and I won’t detail my reasons for following him (they are professional at least). But I get his tweets. And I can’t stand them. It’s not “I enjoyed this” but “go watch or read or eat this”. It’s not, “Here are my thoughts on this”, it’s “Go comment on this.” Add to this name dropping and bits of would-be wisdom, and it’s annoying as all get out. He’s probably a really nice guy. But the tweets are really bad.

(What’s that? You? Of course it’s not you, it’s someone else. I love your tweets!)

Good tweets share. Bad tweets instruct.

Good tweets invite. Bad tweets promote.

Good tweets are there for followers to enjoy — here’s what I’m thinking/doing! here’s my book! here’s my kid! here’s 40% off of my kid and my book!

Bad tweets are there to make readers do or think or believe something that they currently don’t. The follow on twitter may be the permission that marketers are seeking, but it isn’t permission to market badly.

These ideas will be inspiring my tweets for the foreseeable future. We’ll see how I do.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Responses

  1. Great stuff here, however the reason why you love Don AND Matt’s tweets are because they share so much in common! A bit more than 140 characters but has your bro-in-law passed along the info to you?!?!

    http://topsellingauthors.com/world/top_stories/1383/2469/matt_gronseth

    He is uber-fun to follow 🙂

  2. What!?! Don and Matt have some splaining to do:

    http://topsellingauthors.com/world/top_stories/1383/2399/paul_berry

  3. […] Good tweets share. Bad tweets instruct. Good tweets invite. Bad tweets promote. […]

  4. […] in college and is a pretty smart guy, so I gave it a read. It was another instance of his typical brother-in-law awesomeness. It was so good that I neglected to give it back. I think Matt has already purchased another copy. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

